Underwood Works to Deliver Additional Coronavirus Relief Funds to Small Cities and Localities

April 14, 2020
Press Release
Funding would help Illinois communities in the 14th District that are currently not receiving direct payments from the CARES Act

WASHINGTON— Today, Congresswoman Lauren Underwood (IL-14) supported new legislation to provide additional funding to small cities and localities across Illinois’ 14th District. The Coronavirus Community Relief Act led by Representatives Joe Neguse (CO-02), Ben Ray Luján (NM-03), Andy Levin (MI-09), and Tom Malinowski (NJ-07) would provide $250 billion in stabilization funds for local communities, cities, and towns across the United States that are struggling amidst the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

The Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act, or the CARES Act, signed into law on March 27, provided $150 billion in stabilization funds for states and larger communities but capped localities able to receive direct support at those with populations of over 500,000. This excludes towns, cities, and rural counties like DeKalb County, McHenry County, Plainfield, Crystal Lake, and St. Charles that have been hit hard by the coronavirus outbreak.

“Communities across northern Illinois are rising to meet the challenges brought on by the coronavirus pandemic. Like larger cities, smaller counties, cities, and towns are facing enormous costs to ensure the health and safety of their residents. These communities are every bit as deserving of financial support from the federal government,” said Underwood. “I’ve joined my House colleagues to introduce the Coronavirus Community Relief Act to make localities throughout Illinois eligible for direct stabilization funding for coronavirus relief.”

Underwood is currently working directly with small localities not eligible for direct payments included in the Coronavirus Relief Fund.

“As the Mayor of a community with a population of approximately 45,000 people, I cannot overemphasize how critical this legislation is to our ability to mitigate the damage caused by COVID-19.  The overwhelming majority of cities villages and towns in America are small or relatively small, and we all need to have direct access to available resources rather than being forced to rely upon trickle down from big cities in our states,” Mayor Aaron Shepley of Crystal Lake.

“I appreciate Congresswoman Underwood’s support for the Coronavirus Community Relief Act.  The impact of this pandemic on smaller communities is just as real and creates similar hardships,” Mayor Ray Rogina of St. Charles.